What is the Melvin Jones Fellowship - The Foundations’ Highest Honor !

Melvin Jones International MemorialMelvin Jones

      That question is best answered in terms of individuals whose lives have been enriched by humanitarian projects. Projects made possible by donations to Lions Clubs International Foundation (LCIF) for the Melvin Jones Fellowship Program. The fellowship, which was created in 1973, takes its name from the founder of Lions Clubs International (LCI), Melvin Jones. It is an honor--not an award. The fellowship was established as LCIF’s highest form of recognition to acknowledge an individual’s dedication to humanitarian service. Fellowship donations are largely responsible for successfully launching the Lions’ aggressive global attack on preventable and curable blindness--the LCIF SightFirst program
     Fellowship donations, combined with other unrestricted gifts, provide funding for constructing and equipping medical facilities. These projects are often designed to benefit disadvantaged and underserved populations. Fellowship donations support vocational assistance programs that teach skills to disabled persons, giving them an opportunity to live productively and independently. Fellowship donations help fund reconstruction projects following major disasters. Fellowship donations have been used to provide homes for children with special needs and homes for the elderly. ...and the list of humanitarian projects goes on.
     When you meet Melvin Jones Fellows, you will notice that they are greatly concerned about the needs of humanity. They are firmly committed to finding ways of improving the quality of life in their local communities and in the world community. Thousands of lives have been dramatically touched by the good works that are funded with fellowship donations. The personal nature of the fellowship restricts it to individuals only. The honor cannot be given to any group or organization.


Melvin Jones Fellows of the Leavenworth Lions

Karl Romig 1987-88  
John Murray 1988-89  
Eugene Wentworth 1989-90  
Larry Weeda 1990-91  
Geary Ludwig 1991-92  
Ed Powers 1992-93  
Walden Dye 1992-93  
G. Keefe Bleakley 1992-93  
Jack Walker 1992-93  
Robert Brownson 1992-93  
William Bayer 1993-94  
Joseph Madenjian 1993-94  
Jake DeFrees 1994-95  
Herbert Hill 1994-95  
Merle Euler 1994-95  
Earl Irish 1994-95  
C.W. Bill Ruckhaber 1994-95  
M.James Trum 1994-95  
Charles Wamsley 1994-95  
Chester Morris 1995-96  
Ross Markle 1995-96  
William Nowlan 1995-96  
Richard Wright 1995-96  
Mark Norris 1997-98  
John Suwalsky 1997-98  
David M. Davis 1998-99  
Samuel M. Maxwell III 1999-00  
Wesley Ludwig 2000-01  
Edward C. Baldwin Jr. 2001-02  
Billy Southard 2001-02  
Robert W. Euler 2001-03  
Stephen Wood 2003-04  
Mark Klotz 2003-04  
John A. Raletz 2004-05  
Deborah Weaverling 2004-05  
William Broeker 2005-06  
Norman McCleod 2006-07  
Randy Herrman 2007-08  
Gertrude Jackson 2008-09  
Carl DeRuyscher 2009-10  
Dick Boultinghouse 2010-11  
George Huvendick 2011-12  
Ralph Beckwith 2012-13
                                                         John Havens
                               John Raletz- 2d Award - Progressive Fellow
                                                        Gary Colston
                                                          Joe Porter      2015-16

 Jim Beil


 Kim Baker


 Roger Harrison
Nancy Bauder

Melvin Jones FellowsPast Club PresidentsClaude DeVorss FellowsWunder Fellows

GoalsActivitiesLinksProgramsMonthly NewsletterMonthly NewsletterHome

We welcome your questions and comments

Webmaster: Lion John Raletz