Welcome to the


Leavenworth Lions Club

Claude M DeVorss Fellows of the Leavenworth Lions Club

Claude M. DeVorss of Wichita, Kansas, USA, was elected president of The International Association of Lions Clubs at the association's 47th annual convention in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, July 1964. Past President DeVorss is a former mayor of Wichita, the largest city in Kansas. He served four years in the city's government and two terms on the Kansas League of Municipalities. While serving as mayor of Wichita, he was elected president of the World Congress of Mayors in Italy. A Lion since 1945, Claude DeVorss has recorded 54 years perfect attendance in the Wichita Downtown Lions Club - one of the largest Lions clubs in the world. He has held many offices, including district governor, and served as the U.S. Representative on the Board of International Relations. He served a two-year term as a member of the association's board of directors from 1957-59, and was appointed to the Executive Committee of the International Board of Directors. He is also a former member of the Leader Dog Board and a current member of the board of regents of Wichita State University. For his many contributions to the association, Claude DeVorss has received the 100% District Governor Award, 28 Head of State Awards, 16 International President's Awards and is a Melvin Jones Fellow. He has also received the Ambassador of Goodwill Award, the highest honor granted by the association to its members, and the "Kansas Outstanding Lion" trophy by the Lions of Kansas. He has sponsored 382 new Lion members and received the Key Member Medal for 120 new members. He was cited by the International Supreme Council to the DeMolay Legion of Honor and given a Life Membership. He is listed in "Who's Who In America." In his honor the "Claude M. DeVorss Fellowship was initiated. The following members of the Leavenworth Lions Club have been selected as Claude M. DeVorss Fellows.

Karl Romig 1998-1999  
Eugene Wentworth 1999-2000  
Geary Ludwig 2000-2001  
Jack Walker 2000-2001  
Robert E Brownson 2001-2002  
Joseph Madenjian 2002-2003  
Samuel M. Maxwell 2003-2004  
Larry Weeda 2004-2005  
Merle Euler 2005-2006  
William Broeker 2007-2008  
John A. Raletz 2008-2009  
Norm McLeod 2009-2010  
Dave Davis 2010-2011  
John Havens 2011-2012  
Carol Sharp 2012-2013  
 James Beil 2013-2014  
 Clarence "Joe" Porter 2014-2015  
 Debra Weaverling 2015-2016  
 Gary Colston 2016-2017  
 Bob Euler 2017-2018  
 Steve Wood



Melvin Jones FellowsPast Club PresidentsClaude DeVorss FellowsWunder Fellows

GoalsActivitiesLinksProgramsMonthly NewsletterMonthly NewsletterHome

We welcome your questions and comments

Webmaster: Lion John Raletz